Are We Loving Our Classmates as Brothers & Sisters?

 Hey faithful readers, I’m sorry that I haven’t posted in a while, but I plan on restarting as soon as I can. Meanwhile, here’s an article I wrote for my school paper. It’s written to the students, but with just a little twist it can be applied to coworkers and other members of the body. 🙂

* * *

   Acaciawood prides itself in the fact that all of its faculty and the majority of its students are members of the Body of Christ. The faculty recognizes the Lord’s authority over the school, and strives to act in submission to His leadership. They pray for the school and the students in their meetings, asking that God will show Himself among us. But do we, the students, acknowledge God’s presence among us? Do we recognize that our classmates are also our brothers and sisters? Do we treat them the way the Lord wants us to treat them?

No one has ever seen God; if we love one another, God abides in us and his love is perfected in us. So we have come to know and to believe the love that God has for us. God is love, and whoever abides in love abides in God, and God abides in him. We love because he first loved us. If anyone says, “I love God,” and hates his brother, he is a liar; for he who does not love his brother whom he has seen cannot love God whom he has not seen. And this commandment we have from him: whoever loves God must also love his brother. (1 John 4:12, 16, 19-21 ESV)

     I understand that many times, it’s hard to put up with our classmates, It’s tempting to retaliate with a few choice words. It’s frustrating to deal with difficult people. However, love looks beyond that. If Christ was able to love us despite how far our sin separates us from His holiness, how come we don’t actively strive to love one another with the same love? This quarter, I want to encourage all you Acaciawoodians to reflect on whether or not you are actively showing love to your classmates. Are we acting as the Lord commanded? Do our speech and our actions reflect God’s love and the Gospel?

A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another: just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another. By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.” (John 13:34, 35 ESV)

     Acaciawood isn’t a Christian school in that we don’t intentionally incorporate Christian material into the classrooms, but we are a Christian school in that we are a body of believers learning and working together to become godly men and women. The teachers have done their part, but I believe us students need some work. If there’s one thing we can work to take pride in, it is that our actions and speech towards one another is an accurate reflection of the character of Christ and the Gospel.

Let’s start this year with agape love for one another.

One thought on “Are We Loving Our Classmates as Brothers & Sisters?

  1. I used to struggle with this working as a server at a retirement community. I used to always use the word ‘hate’ to direct my feelings to my co-servers who just can’t seem to do things right despite constant teaching from our manager. But then I realized that hating them would not really change anything, and can in fact, only worsen our job experience with each other. So I started to help them out and have since then become friends. I love that John 13 verse =]. It always reminds me to love others.

What Do You Think?

