Waiting on God’s Timing

I’m the kind of a person where when I want to get something done, I want to be at the helm, where the actual action takes place. I get antsy if I have to sit at the sidelines and watch. I get frustrated if I’m forced into the sidelines.

That’s how I feel right now concerning my role in my church. My youth group began a leadership/coworker training a few months back. I decided not to participate because I believed that when senior year starts, I won’t be able to keep up with the homework and classes. Now, however, I realize that any leadership role I take in my church, or any influence I may have been able to exert, will have to wait for another year and possibly more. If I categorize my youth group’s members, the people who usually tended to the kids and mentored them are now all married, most with kids. They’re busy. There are a few college age people, or people in graduate school, but they only come back every so often because it’s too far to travel back on a more regular basis. Then there are the new college brothers and sisters, who are great role models but have not yet seen fit to step up and mentor the younger ones. I’m stuck in the awkward position of an overaged high school senior, who is unpopular even among the kids. Then there are the kids, who for some reason have shown themselves to be a bit more difficult and more liberal than I’d wished to see.

I acknowledge that it isn’t me who is doing the ministry work, but God through me. However I still can’t help but want to get a move on. I hate not being able to be even an example to the younger brothers and sisters in our congregation. The most I can be will be one normal Christian brother who seeks the Lord. That just doesn’t sound enough, especially since I don’t really produce any outward fruit other than higher standards, refusing to do certain things, and this blog. They don’t seem to notice my standards, laugh at my refusals, and only one person I personally know actually reads what I write here.

I can’t help but ask if something’s wrong with me. Is it a personality flaw? Am I still too young? Am I not letting go and letting God? Am I trying too hard? Do I have so many struggles in my life that I can’t do much? Am I wanting to do ministry within my own church for the right reasons?

I’ll wait if I have to, but it feels like forever. I want to do something for God, something bigger and more radical. I even want to start a group in my already (supposedly) Christian school where we play worship songs some days before school, or start Bible memory challenges. I want to see people grow. I don’t want to be the silly person who says that. I want to be the person who helps facilitate the growth.

Here is a passage I find particularly relevant:

There is an appointed time for everything. And there is a time for every event under heaven- A time to give birth and a time to die;
A time to plant and a time to uproot what is planted. A time to kill and a time to heal;
A time to tear down and a time to build up. A time to weep and a time to laugh;
A time to mourn and a time to dance. A time to throw stones and a time to gather stones;
A time to embrace and a time to shun embracing. A time to search and a time to give up as lost;
A time to keep and a time to throw away. A time to tear apart and a time to sew together;
A time to be silent and a time to speak. A time to love and a time to hate;
A time for war and a time for peace. What profit is there to the worker from that in which he toils? I have seen the task which God has given the sons of men with which to occupy themselves. (Ecclesiastes 3:1-10 NASB)

It’s helpful to learn to wait on God’s timing. When the time comes, He will make His move, and nothing can stop Him then. I just need to be on the ready to move when He does; to be used when He needs me.

8 thoughts on “Waiting on God’s Timing

  1. I am not sure how old you are but one thing I can say and that is this..all those questions you have asked I know Jesus sees your heart and He will answer them for you and give you direction. Remember the word says delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart. When I first started in Ministry at my church I was in my 20’s and it was hard I didn’t know what people thought of me just like you but I had to get out of my mind what people thought and do what God thought. And I stepped up and got into one ministry and than I saw the Lord using me in another ministry and that is what God does. As long as we are willing to be used He will use us. Remember how Paul had to tell Timothy don’t let your age of your youth keep you from doing the work of the Ministry…And so you wait on an answer from God and when God has spoken to you than you do just what He says, everything else will fall into place because God will see to it so that you can do what He has prepared you to do..AMEN..stay encouraged….

    • Thank you for your encouraging words! 🙂 As you mentioned Timothy, I’m reminded of 1 Timothy 4:12, where Paul states that even the young can be an example of God in speech, love, faith, conduct, and purity to other believers.

      My only fear is that something is wrong in my life or I have ulterior motives, or I’m focused on the wrong ministry all together, which I pray is not so.

      Also, if you’re still curious, I’m 18. 🙂

      Blessings,
      Kyle

  2. What a wonderful blog here! It is so great to see a young person who is on the right track and not into rationalizing sin so that they can go and party and have fun and still pretend to have Jesus!

    I will say that the more you step out in faith in leadership, the more Jesus will use you and He will strengthen you and encourage you to be able to do it! Also dont minimize the attack of the enemy to defeat you and discourage you and work against you and to try and make it very difficult to get anywhere. If he can get you to give up, he will have won a battle against you and he will not have only affected your life but the lives of all those that you might have been able to help or influence!

    if you have never read Frank Perettis book, This present Darkness, you should as it has great insight into the spiritual battle that goes on around us. It is a fiction book but the spiritual message is right on!

    Do not get discouraged and keep pressing forward! God will use you to do great things!

  3. Kyle, I have really enjoyed reading over your blog posts and really felt for you as I read this post. (New to blogging, is it called a post? Or is it always a blog?) I first felt my call to ministry when I was in middle school, and I was allowed to serve as a leader in my high school youth group. Unfortunately, I was not prepared for the role, and found myself sliding away from my relationship with God. I took a break and returned to ministry in college.
    That was ten years ago and today I have the blessing of mentoring some of the student leaders at our church. It is a real honor to be able to encourage these individuals and to be there for them as they deal with difficult times.
    I say that to say this. It can be difficult to be a leader in a church’s student ministry while being in high school. It requires one thing in abundance; authenticity. It is all about being authentic. You can know EVERYTHING in the Bible, but if you can not be authentic in front of students they will not listen to you. It is not about popularity or even the appearance of wisdom, if you can’t be authentic with them they do not care. I know a great kid who has been blessed with leadership skills. He is a self titled “nerd” and embraces who he is completely. He has had a few opportunities to speak at our Wednesday night youth service (300 students), and the kids love him because he is authentic with them. He shares some heavy truth sometimes, and they respect him.
    I spent much of my time early on learning everything that I could about Christianity, but there was one thing that I missed. It took me years to learn how to love others, and really care for them. I could share a sermon to people who love me, about something that they need to hear, but if I am not up there because I care about them and their walk with the Lord I am wasting all of our time. In ministry leadership, it matters more about your concern for the audience than your skill.
    Suggestion, if you do not feel that you have time to minister to the whole group, choose a small group or even one student, younger than you, who needs someone to poor into their lives. You never know, reaching that one student could change the world. Someone spent one on one time with Billy Graham. It is great that you have these desires, but don’t let your frustration discourage you. Be watchful, God will use you when you are ready. Don’t forget Moses and Paul both spent time away from those they were called to serve before God used them.

    • I’ve been blogging for a couple of years and I always call them posts. I find it too confusing when people say “blogs”. It’s like what do you mean… Your site or your post?? Haha

      Wow. I really appreciate your words of wisdom. It really opened my eyes, and I will be sure to see how I can apply this in my life at this point (and in the future as well!)

      Thank you so much,

      Blessings,
      Kyle

What Do You Think?

