Cast All Your Anxiety on Him

Recently I’ve been really challenged in my faith, as in how will I respond in different situations.

I’ve been raised conservatively. My church is very intentional with building a biblical foundation for life, and also for its members to be Gospel-centered. On top of that, my spiritual gift seems to never lack in convictions. It’s hard for me to accept more “liberal” views and practices. It also makes me more intolerant of sin, and all that it entails or involves.

That said, several situations have popped up in my life where I am forced to pause, step back, and ask myself: how solid are my views on a particular practice or ideology? Can I be swayed, and what are the things that can sway me? Can I ignore the problem and carry on with my life? Am I doomed to keep secrets I never intended to hear, to deal with them in the confines of my mind? I can only talk to God about my problems, but I wonder if pouring my heart out to Him is really all I can do. It also feels like there’s no response. I need His wisdom and guidance in how to act, how to respond to different situations. Sometimes, or usually, these faith issues are pretty much emergencies. I need God’s wisdom right then, so I can say the right things. Biblical truths.

Whether I’m enraged at some sin, or doubtful about a situation in front of me, I’m wondering what I can draw assurance from. I’m in desperate need of answers, and I know prayer is they key, but I’m not sure if I can hold out long enough to wait.

[Cast] all your anxiety on Him, because He cares for you. (1 Peter 5:7 NASB)

Verses like this one are what I’m looking for, and all I can hold on to while I wait for answers. I have to learn from these situations, because I’m positive that I’ll encounter more of them in the future, and I hope that I’m prepared. I hope I can stand firm, that I know what my standards are and whether they are based on biblical truths, and be able to be at peace knowing that God will provide me with the answers I need.

2 thoughts on “Cast All Your Anxiety on Him

  1. Kyle, you’re not alone in this. Many of the saints of old have come back to the same answer to all of these questions. Paul summed it up in Galatians 2:20 New Living Translation (NLT)
    “My old self has been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me. So I live in this earthly body by trusting in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”

    It’s the crucifixion of our old self and the risen life of Jesus than enables us to “hold out long enough”. When we’re dead to sin, there’s nothing left to hold onto.

    I pray this makes sense to you.

What Do You Think?

