Roller Coaster Christian

One of my biggest failures as a Christian, and sometimes as a person in general, is my inconsistency. I live double lives at the same time. When I’m not careful, one life overtakes the other, and I’m left feeling confused about my actions. For example, I could be talking about being a blessing to someone one day, and the next I’m complaining nonstop about them.

What negative effect does this have?

To fellow believers, and the unsaved, my inconsistent actions look like hypocrisy. In many cases, it IS hypocrisy. Especially since I’ve decided to try and do some ministry with what little I have, it is even more imperative that I live a consistent lifestyle of pursuing Christ.

Pay close attention to yourself and to your teaching; persevere in these things, for as you do this you will ensure salvation both for yourself and for those who hear you. (1 Timothy 4:16 NASB)

Slip at the wrong moment, and I can block someone from being open to the Gospel. One mistake can give Christians a bad name. It is important to be accountable for my actions at all times, else I taint the testimony of God and become a stumbling block.

Washed with the Word, led by the Word, obedient to the Word. That way, I remain faithful, and be an accurate reflection of Christ.

10 thoughts on “Roller Coaster Christian

  1. While listening to an audio book yesterday, a well-known pastor spoke of his major goal in life to stay focused on the Presence of God. (Strengthen Yourself in the LORD – Bill Johnson). I was inspired to do the same.

  2. I can say I truly appreciate this blog because you spoke truths that many would not even own up to and that is what I like hearing. We all have struggled in this area but many won’t even say a word about it they rather live in darkness and doubt and let the enemy lie and lie to them..I pray more people read this because this will help so many…
    ]
    Also thank you for recently visiting my page I do hope you come back as often as you please and leave your comments as well.

  3. Thank you for your honesty and help for all of us who stumble, but desire to get back up and keep running the best we can for Him. God bless you and the calling He has placed on your life!

What Do You Think?

