Redeem the Time, Invest in Lives, Glorify God

In my previous post, I touched on the subject of praying for our fellow believers out of love and concern. In this one, I want to address why I believe praying for them is one of the best ways to spend our time.

I have a lot of free time. My schedule is relatively flexible. Many times I find myself bored, and wasting my time browsing the Internet and watching movies or TV shows. Sometimes I have a sober moment where I wonder why I’m even whittling my time away on such temporal things that have minimal impact on my life, save the ever-growing addiction to technology.

Therefore be careful how you walk, not as unwise men but as wise, making the most of your time, because the days are evil. So then do not be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is.

(Ephesians 5:15-17 NASB)

Many of you may be familiar with the phrase “redeem the time, for the days are evil.” what we infer from this is the idea that if we don’t spend our time on things of worth, we open time for evil temptation to creep into our lives and corrupt us.

What if, in our extra time, we pray for our fellow believers? We look out for their spiritual safety and growth? We plead with God that their lives are spent on Him instead of the things of the world? Would these prayers result in our time being well-spent?

Some concepts I have considered is looking after my own spiritual growth and holiness and relationship with God so that I can effectively pray for and encourage my fellow brothers and sisters. If I spend my time immersing myself in the Bible so I can have some encouraging verses to share with them, or pray for them so that they will be might men and women of God, I believe that my free time will be spent in the best possible way.

My ideas don’t come from me. When I was 14,  a newborn Christian, an older brother in my church felt led to disciple me. He drove more than half an hour almost every week to visit me and spend time with me. I must admit I was a very peculiar kid back then. Very immature. Somehow, however, this brother persisted in the next 2 1/2 years in helping me grow in my faith. He invested in my life, in hope that I would do the same to more people in the future. His work is not in vain; I now see the numerous fruits of his labor in my life, and that helps motivate me to serve God and my fellow brothers in sisters in whatever way I can.

It certainly takes a lot of time and effort to reach the point of investing in what is eternal, but with God’s help, we can do it. We can lead lives of righteousness while helping our fellow believers do the same. It’s a cycle that we should continue people after people, generation after generation. In doing so, God will be glorified through our work.

Let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven.
– (Matthew 5:16 NASB)
What Do You Think?

