Heed the Gentle Whisper

The Lord is harsh with me.

Maybe even brutal.

It’s my fault, really. I could have listened to what He said earlier. I could have heeded His nudges and convictions. But no, I had to wait for Him to literally drop an anvil on my head and crush me into noticing Him again.

Looking back, I can distinguish those small moments where God nudged me, whispered to me, that I need to change or give up something in my life. I ignored it the first time, discarded the idea the second, and refused to acknowledge the third. My chances are up, and God still wants my attention. I can count how many times he used the big guns on me. Every time he does, I learn a lesson I could just have easily learned if I had paid attention to His gentle whisper.

And [the angel of the Lord] said, “Go out and stand on the mount before the Lord.” And behold, the Lord passed by, and a great and strong wind tore the mountains and broke in pieces the rocks before the Lord, but the Lord was not in the wind. And after the wind an earthquake, but the Lord was not in the earthquake. And after the earthquake a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire. And after the fire the sound of a low whisper. And when Elijah heard it, he wrapped his face in his cloak and went out and stood at the entrance of the cave. And behold, there came a voice to him and said, “What are you doing here, Elijah?” – 1 Kings 19:11-13

I really appreciate the deeper meaning of this passage. One would expect the “God of the Old Testament” to appear in a hurricane and lightning to speak to His prophet in a rumbling and thunderous voice. However, that was not the case; He chose to speak in “a low whisper.” Elijah paid no heed to the wind, the earthquake, and the fire. When he heard the whisper, however, he came out to meet with the Lord.

I believe that God wants to speak to His children with the tenderness a parent would to their child. He doesn’t need to utilize the forces of nature or use extreme experiences to pass instructions to His servants. They already know He exists and that He’s there. His voice can be as gentle, as soft, and delicate as a whisper. His convictions can be a small nudge to your conscience.

Too often we expect to hear from God in extraordinary ways, divine intervention, or through supernatural acts. We expect Him to slap us with revelation and call to us with brothers and sisters pressuring us to follow His word. We don’t want to quiet down and simply wait and listen. Why do we not pay heed to His nudges and whispers? I sometimes have these scary moments where something someone says sounds like they spoke directly from God, especially when it comes from a nonbelieving person or a brother or sister who usually doesn’t discuss matters of the faith. It pierces me, but it is still a painless experience compared to the trials God throws me in if I didn’t pay attention.

It’s not that hard to know when God is whispering… it may be your Bible lying near you, a song on the radio, or a comment by a friend. When you notice, take care to listen to Him. Take heed to what He says, because truly, you can save yourself a lot of pain by simply listening the first time He whispers to you.

2 thoughts on “Heed the Gentle Whisper

  1. “There remains, then, a Sabbath- rest for the people of God; for anyone, who enters God’s rest also rests from his own work, just as God did from his. Let us, therefore, make every effort to enter that rest, so that no one will fall by following their example of disobedience. For the word of God is living and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to diving soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.” – Hebrews 4:11-12

    “I think the devil has made it his business to monopolize on three elements: nouse, hurry, crowds. If he can keep us hearing radios, gossip, conversation, or even sermons, he is happy. But he will not allow quietness. For he believes Isaiah where we do not. Satan is quite aware of the power of silence. The voice of God, though persistent, is soft…” – Jim Elliot

    I need to also learn to listen for God’s gentle whisper and find my rest in God through His Word!

    Great post Kyle! See you soon! :]

What Do You Think?

