One Voice

Listening to and singing the song One Voice, I’m constantly convicted and moved by the powerful truth behind its words.

In my life, my parents have exposed me to a variety of churches throughout the years. I’ve met strong baptists, Amish-like people, house churches, local churches, conservative churches, charismatic churches, etc. it was not until I came to my school and came into contact with the Lord’s Recovery (a nondenominational ‘church’ network known for their slightly unorthodox methods of worship and Bible study) that I really began to ponder how much variety is in the Body.

I was also struck by the realization of how large the Body of Christ is. If every one of my schoolmates were a genuine believer, which they all claim to be, that’s already over 100 fellow brothers and sisters going to school with me every day.

Add that to your church, and throw in all the conferences you’ve been to. Multiply that by the many ministries, organizations, and churches across the nation and all over the world.

It’s huge.

The other day I was talking with an older brother, and we somehow ended up on the topic of the church; more specifically, how our church functions, how the Evangelical Formosan Churches (EFC’s) (my church’s fellowship affiliation) function, and how different church chains have different requirements for affiliation. We also discussed our roles in the church, how every single person has something to contribute. We need to work together as a youth group in order that our church can function, the EFCs work, and the worldwide Body grow. It all starts by how each individual works for the Body.

This thought brought me to ponder something: if every person counts, and only through cooperation will the church grow… Just how important is the way we treat each other?

Looking at my youth group, it is true (and a bit shameful) that we’ve formed cliques. There are (informal yet exclusive) events that occur where only some people are invited, such as certain outings. There are activities that are exclusive. Also, whenever we socialize, groups tend to form where everyone is crowded around intent on a conversation.

In observing my classmates, who have grown up together since junior high, I’ve been a bit appalled at the way they interact. Some of the stuff they say can be really damaging, but they’re oblivious to it because they think the offended knows that the offender is just teasing. Looking at my youth group from this perspective, I can see that we have the same problem as well. Perhaps not as extreme, but definitely still existing.

As Christians we really need to watch how we interact. Be determined to build each other up, and observe boundaries when we’re making jokes. We also have to be wary of becoming exclusive, because really, people will get or feel hurt. If the church depended on the interaction between its members, we need to be bearing each other’s burdens, pray for and counsel each other, expressing love, humility, and a servant’s spirit. We are not to belittle each other, make inappropriate jokes, or discuss topics that may hinder or stunt younger believers, but move towards being a family in Christ.

I like the illustration someone I know used before, which states that if God is the Father, then the Church is the Mother. You, every individual believer, are THE church, since the church consists of individuals. Therefore, we should nourish and care for each other. Change will only happen if each person is wary and convicted of monitoring the way they interact with other believers.

Here’s the song One Voice:

One thought on “One Voice

What Do You Think?

