Observing Lent 2012

Imagine my surprise when I found out today that Lent had started this past Wednesday.

To be honest, I’ve tried participating in Lent in the past few years, but it never really worked out. I either broke my commitment to give something up, or neglected my daily devotions, Bible study, and/or prayer and meditation. Most of the time, I’d forget I was even doing Lent… until the last few days before Easter Sunday.

I hope to make things different this year, however. I still do plan on giving something up – not for the sake of doing Lent, but because what I want to give up (movies/TV shows/secular videos/entertainment) are honestly things I can live without. In addition, they usually provide a means of subtle temptation, and I don’t want to have to deal with distracting and sinful thoughts when I should be focusing on the Lord.

However, this time I want to spend a lot more time on my relationship with God. Hopefully by freeing up more time, I can spend my leisure time blogging and fulfilling my goals:

  • Know, revere, and respect God in His holiness and majesty Too often I forget that God is a King. He is the Judge of my soul, and the Creator who placed me on earth. His offer of a relationship with Him should not be taken lightly; He is holy; I am sinful, and I should acknowledge that it is only in His great mercy that I even have a chance of praying to Him and spend eternity with Him.
  • Hunger and thirst for the Word I want to develop a craving for the Word of God. I want it to be an essential part of my day. In fact, I want the Lord to go as far as to wreck my day until I finally pick up my Bible to spend time with Him. If force is what I need to become disciplined enough to develop a ravenous appetite for the Word, then let it be so. I need the Word, and I want to do everything possible to be filled with it.
  • Passionate in prayer Prayer is powerful. There is no doubt that God works mightily when His people pray. I notice that too often I pray to God for help. God is not a call-in service, and prayer is not a telephone call. If I have the audacity to speak to the King of the Heavens and the Earth, I should be on my knees in prayer, asking for His mercy first, then intercession, and only after that ask for His help. I want to develop a righteous, faithful prayer life. Not because I want to be a better Christian, but because I want to draw near to the heart of God, and only through speaking to Him and meditating on His word can I succeed in this endeavor.

I’m going to need a lot of God’s grace and a good deal of accountability in order to keep it up this lent season. As to my devotions, I’ll be continuing what I’m reading now: through 1 Peter, then 2 Peter, and then perhaps Hebrews or Colossians.

Are you doing Lent this year? I’d love to know what you’re doing and perhaps help keep you accountable as well! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Observing Lent 2012

  1. Hey Kyle! Great post! I also want this year to be different in that in the things I give up I replace with time with God.

    Something that helped me last week to prepare for Lent was when the pastor was speaking on fasting, that in times of fasting “it reveals our weaknesses and true character.” Man does not live on bread alone, and many times I forget this and try to live normally without spiritual nourishment!

    I’m giving up media, please keep me accountable! And I’ll definitely be asking you how you are doing too :] ! Keep it up!

  2. As I was reading your post several things came to my mind, one is God will never force Himself on us, and as long as you have such a hunger and thirst for His word, all you have to do it pick it up and God will fill that hunger and thirst you have my friend. One of the ways which really helped me to know more of His word was to get in a bible study group this will keep you accountable and give you the help and support you need. As I tell people when you reading the bible take one verse or two verse at a time and read that. After reading it mediate on what you read and then before you know it you will be reading more each day then you did before. This journey is not a race where we have to finish before others. we are all on it together so we have to help one another and be there for one another. The race is not given to the swift it’s given to the one who endures till the end. AMEN..I hope this encouraged you today.

    The Devotion Cafe, Inc.
    http://desirayl.wordpress.com

What Do You Think?

