Sacrificing for the Better Things

The Christian life is one of sacrifices. Not sacrifices that will harm us, but sacrifices that will help us grow, develop, and mature as believers. We are called to leave everything behind and to follow Christ. This is not to be taken extremely literally, but it is to be followed to a reasonable extent.

“But whatever things were gained to me I now consider lost for the sake of Christ. What is more, I consider everything a loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them garbage, that I may gain Christ.”

Philippians 3:7-8

What things are so valuable to you, they keep you away from serving the Lord to your full ability? It may be sports, video games, sex, alcohol, toys, books, ideas, philosophies, movies… et cetera.  They all have their individual allure, drawing those under their influence closer and closer to bondage in their own addictions.

I admit to being an idolater to several things, such as books and movies. An idol is essentially something that takes away time that should be spent with God. Many pastimes are not inherently evil within themselves. They might even be good things, like spending time in charity work, missions, and with family.  But if they began to take control of your life to the extent that you are neglecting your personal, daily walk with God, then there is something wrong. In my case, I would rather spend time with a good book or a exciting movie than to spend time with God in prayer or reading His word.

The solution to these addictions would be to lay them before the Lord on an altar of love, handing them over to Him and in doing so express your love for Him. In sacrificing those things which are dearest to you, you say to God: “I love you more.”

There is nothing God would love to hear more.

However just sacrificing your idols is not the end of the story. There will be no effect to your declaration without practical application. Replace the time you used to spend on your idols with personal time with the Lord. Talk to Him, journal His work in your life, read His word, read Christian books that challenge your walk. Give Him the time that once went to waste.

Become addicted to the Words, love, beauty, and presence of God.

I, personally, drift in and out of this process over and over. But whenever I enter into God’s presence again, I know no other joy. I cannot understand WHY I sought solace and entertainment in worldly, temporal things. I just know that God is enough. His grace is enough. His love is enough.

Have no idols before the Lord, because He is worth more than all of them… combined.

 

What Do You Think?

