A Perfect Potsherd – Part V

“These are for you,” He said, “Because I love you and want you to know the best I have for you. Everything you did in the past is the past, and let this remind you of how much I will always love you, no matter what.”

One by one, He attached them to my body, just below my neck. They stuck there and began to give off their soft glow once more. Then the Mater Potter Held up a shiny piece of metal. I gasped at my reflection. Or did it belong to someone else?

The mirror bore the image of the most beautiful vase I had ever seen. A strange pattern covered my body, and it took me a moment to realize they were my cracks. The Potter had used them to create an intricate, unique design the like never seen before. The three pearls shone brighter than my original precious stones, which were slightly scarred by my contact with the rocks.

“Do you like it?” the Potter asked me, eyes twinkling.

I nodded.

“My strength is shown in your weakness,” He answered the question that was still concealed in my mind. “I will take your flaws and show people my omnipotence, for you are the work of my hands, and I will shape you as I see fit. Nothing anyone says will ever change that.”

That’s when the truth struck me. I was perfect before I had become prideful and decided to venture into the wretched world outside. It was alluring, but it didn’t last. I was left alone to suffer when hard times rolled around, and my Potter had to come rescue me. When He broke me, my imperfections and weaknesses became apparent. But He took my weaknesses and flaws and used them for His purpose. Not only does He has the power to heal, but also the power to restore and create something new from the old. I was a potsherd, but in His hands I am made beautiful. In His eyes I am perfect. And His opinion is the only one that matters.

THE END

4 thoughts on “A Perfect Potsherd – Part V

  1. i love this story =)

    you are very talented, and have a wonderful knack for putting complex spiritual truths in a way that is easy to understand, yet doesn't take away from their awesomeness =)

    God has truly blessed you =)

    • Thank you! Actually, I’m not the one who writes my stories. I just… well… put the words on paper. I often read my stories and have no idea where the storyline even developed from. I can only guess that God wrote what I did through me. =)

  2. Lovely ending, you should think about publishing this in a magazine or something. It has encouraged me a lot, especially this end installment. Thank you!

    Blessings,
    Meggie

What Do You Think?

