When I Survey the Heavens…

David has written several Psalms that praise God and His Creation, and what strikes me about these verses is that David lived in a time where electric lights did not exist. Candles and lamps were the only source of light at night. But even with the whole town lit up with flaming candles and lamps, the stars in the night sky will still be visible.

“When I consider your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place, what is man that you are mindful of him, the son of man that you care for him?”  – Psalm 8:3-4

On a recent camping trip with my church, we had the opportunity to go out at night to an open field to gaze upon the dark blue sky, with the bright twinkling starts scattered all over the endless sheet of night. I lay there on the rocks in awe of the heavens. I could see the Big Dipper, Venus, and the spray of white that was the Milky Way. And what made me silent was the number of stars hanging there.

“He determines the number of the stars and calls them each by name.” – Psalm 147:4

Only God could know so many names. I could hardly take in everything I was seeing. I felt like I could just lie there and stare at the sky the whole night. It was just so beautiful! It was that night that I really came to understand David’s fascination of the heavens and the night sky. How awesome and powerful God must be to be the Creator of all these gorgeous wonders in the world. Only a Perfect Designer could have set everything in place with such ideal planning.

“The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of his hands. Day after day they pour forth speech; night after night they display knowledge. There is no speech or language where their voice is not heard. Their voice goes out into all the earth, their words to the ends of the world.” – Psalm 19:1-4

I would strongly encourage everyone to plan a camping trip to an open field; a desert or meadow or anywhere where you can gain a clear view of the sky. What with today’s technology, electric lights are all over the place. It is difficult to see even a few stars in the sky. But once you get a good view of the sky, it is an ineffable experience. The expanse of the heavens is so marvelous, you can only know that the Lord of all Creation had set everything where it is, and knows every single star by its name.

4 thoughts on “When I Survey the Heavens…

  1. That was encouraging Kyle! Thanks for the reminder about how big our God is. I live in the TN country so I see the night skies all the time (not too many lights). I know I take them for granted. I think I’ll go out and look at them tonight. Thanks!

    It’s great to have a big God huh?

  2. I’ve been thinking about that verse and other similiar verses like that lately as well. It makes me wish that we could go back to having just candles.

    Blessings,
    Meggie

What Do You Think?

