Journaling: Questions

It’s always a good idea to ask questions. It exercises your curiosity and helps expand your knowledge. Asking questions about life, God, and His Word is a VERY good idea. By asking questions you can see a better picture of God and gain more insight from the scriptures.

Questions I often like to ask God include “What do you want me to do in this situation?” “Why did you let this happen?” “What are you trying to teach me?” Where should I go from here?” “Why did I do that?”. If I’m bored, I let my imagination fly and ask a bunch of strange questions. And believe it or not, I sometimes get answers to them!  If I don’t know what to do, I literally increase my tone on paper. I use bigger letters, more desperation, calling out to God with my pen. I may get answers, I may not. But when I write down my questions, I can see many of them answered. It’s true what people say about God’s traffic lights: “Stop!” “Wait!” and “Go!”.  I literally see God telling me one of these three signs. And waiting on Him and receiving His answers — whether through scripture, people, or events — is so worth it. I get so encouraged when I can reflect on the Q&A and see God working in my life. It reminds me that God is always there, and always knows where I’m going.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” – Jeremiah 29:11

Of course, some questions never get answered. But that’s why God is so powerful and mysterious; man’s minds cannot comprehend Him!

What Do You Think?

