Journaling: Background

Most people who know me well enough can tell you how big I am on journaling. It’s my favorite hobby.If you get me on the topic, I would talk on and on and on and… you get the idea. 😛

For the next series, I will be talking about journaling and your walk with God. Having experienced the blessings of two years of journaling, I will strongly encourage you to begin journaling yourself. One of the best ways to motivate you is the fact that Jesus’ disciples documented His work. Matthew, Mark, Luke and John wrote down Jesus’ life and recorded His miracles and ministry. Disciples are documenters. 🙂

But a little background on journaling. Many people think of a journal and a diary as the same thing. This is NOT true. A diary is a record of daily events, whereas a journal explores the depth of a person’s mind and emotions. It is more personal and involves what is going on inside a person rather than around him. Of course, many journal keepers combine their diary and journal together, which is what I do. It helps to have a record of daily events and how I responded to them, among other things such as Bible study, pray-writing, and practicing creative writing. But that’s me. What you write is what you like, but I will be giving tips on how I personally begin journaling in a way that I focused everything back to God.

With that aside, I look forward to posting how you can begin your journey to self-discovery in the next post. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Journaling: Background

  1. I journal too, my mom got me started on writing so I began to keep a journal on my daily thoughts and spiritual growth. It really helps me to stay closer to God and grow in my walk with Him. I think it’s great to see that I’m not the only one who does this. 🙂

  2. There are actually a lot of people who do this. 🙂 I thought I was alone too, until I discovered other bloggers and friends of mine who journal solely for their walk with God. 😀

What Do You Think?

