Recycled for Better Good – Part II

All of a sudden, the group of guys I saw surrounded me. I didn’t know what to say, much less act. The guy who saw me earlier spoke first, “Hi! My name’s Jordan. What’s yours?”

He was surprised when I revealed that I had the same name! The rest of the group introduced themselves. Just as the last person shook my hand, the speakers blared, “Sunday school!”

The group motioned for me to go with them. When I entered the classroom, I was introduced as if I had arrived at a new school. Since I didn’t know how to conduct myself Jordan helped me survive the lesson.

During lunch, the same group of boys came over and sat beside me. After learning some more about each other, I was asked, “Do you believe in God?”

I replied yes, but that was not to their satisfaction. They prodded, “Do you believe Jesus died for your sins?”

Well, McKenzie had asked me that before, but I didn’t really think about it. I didn’t need to answer; they knew the answer as they studied me. With great skill, several of them told me how they received Christ. All of them mentioned that they accepted the Christian faith when they were ministered to by some new-found peers at church. They also said that since Christ loved them enough to die for their sins, they are willing to sacrifice their lives by investing in the lives of others. They may not know how to love very well (and I have to admit, they didn’t), but they do know how to care.

My heart was touched in the most tender area as I listened to them share how their pain was relieved, what they struggled with, and their passion for their faith. I somehow knew that I needed Christ. When I told them the precious words, “I want to know Jesus,” they literally exploded with excitement. As they prayed for me, I noticed some had tears in their eyes. How great was their passion! How mature they were! What love Christ must have, that these young men are willing to share their deepest pains! Once again, I was touched.

What Do You Think?

